Skip to main content

NPL Mixtapes: Non-compliant, Volumes 1 and 2

September 9, 2018

An NPL curated Bitch Planet inspired playlist. 

In Kelly Sue DeConnick and Valentine De Landro’s sci-fi comic series Bitch Planet, a rebellion is brewing on the Auxiliary Compliance Outpost. Nicknamed the "Bitch Planet," women who do not comply with social expectations are shipped off to live out the rest of their lives on this penal colony, but they’re not going quietly! If you’re already a fan, or if this sounds like your kind of story, give some of these “non-compliant” artists a listen.

Non-compliant, Volume 1

1. “No One’s Little Girl” by The Raincoats on Moving

2. “Anti Love Song” by Betty Davis on Betty Davis

3. “Pearl” by Tamar-kali on Pariah (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)

4. “Hate” by Ruby Ibarra on Act to Change: Music to Inspire Series

5. “Magdalena” by Niña Dioz on Reyna

6. “Raspberry Swirl” by Tori Amos on Legs and Boots: Chicago, IL – November 5, 2007

7. “Batches & Cookies” by Lizzo, Sophia Eris on Batches & Cookies - Single

Non-compliant, Volume 2

1. “Identity” by X-ray Spex on Live @ the Roundhouse London 2018

2. “Crazy” by Big Freedia on Crazy

3. “Callus” by Honeychild Coleman on Halo Inside (Come La Luna)

4. “Not About Love” by Fiona Apple on Extraordinary Machine

5. “Udeekna” by Ami Dang on Uni Sun

6. “Corporate Cannibal” by Grace Jones on Hurricane

7. “Body” by Syd on Fin

Megan photo with stuffed dinosaur avatar


Megan works at the Main Library Teen Center. She enjoys crafting, board games, and horror and sci-fi films. Reach out to her if you're looking for something new to watch.